CoGC GU2: Scottish Wildlife — Shoot 1 Research

Benmore Botanic Garden Researchattractionpic_486

Beginning my self-initiated graded unit project on the Scottish wildlife I have planned out and decided to photograph the beautiful location of Benmore Botanic Garden. The reason I have chosen this beautiful location is not only for the ideal landscape surrounding the location but also for plant life. One of the photographic techniques I plan to use is macro with the hope of capturing a variety of Scotland’s wildlife insects.

Having analysed the weather forecast for tomorrow it is supposed to be sunny from 8am till 3pm, then from 3pm till 7pm it’ll be cloudy with sun. Benmore Botanic Garden opens at 10am and closes at 5pm giving me sufficient time to capture the wild insects in their e20botanic20gardens206130054212810584703_benmore1habitat. I also plan to shoot various landscape photographs to show their habitat, I maybe restricted however from capturing sunset with Benmore Botanic Garden closing at 5pm. I would imagine between morning and afternoon the lighting would change which will give me a variety of interesting shots. There is also an entry fee into Benmore Botanic Garden which will cost £6.50 for adults. For travel costs by car including ferry charges depending on one way or return.

Knowing that it’s the perfect location for insects to thrive in I am fairly confident I’ll capture many varying insects there I may find. If failing to capture desired landscape shots I would have to plan another location that tells a story of their habitat, although this is an ideal location with plenty of plants, shrubs, flowers and trees with water to create stunning reflective shots for landscape. Here is a sample of some other images which have influenced me for this location:
benmoregardensThe equipment I will be using for this shoot are as follows:

  • Canon 5D Mark iii (body camera)
  • Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM lens
  • Canon 600 EX-RT Flash Speed-Lite
  • Lastolite EzyBox Speed-Lite (soft box)
  • Manfrotto Digital Director
  • Hahnel Giga T Pro II wireless remote trigger
  • C-AF Vivitar Digital Macro Extension Tubes
  • Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L ii USM lens
  • Tokina SD 11-20mm f/2.8 IF DX AT-X Pro lens
  • Velbon Sub-65 tripod with 3 way tripod head
  • ND filters

Some of the equipment listed are optional such as the option I have between the 2 listed lenses for shooting wide angle landscape. I may use my neutral density filters for landscape shots depending on the landscape shots I take.

The sources for my research can be found here:

Leave a Reply

